Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Advanced Drug Delivery, School of Pharmacy

University of Nottingham, United Kingdom

Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm.) in Pharmaceutical Technology with 1 st class honours, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Science

Khon Kaen University, Thailand

Field of Specialization

  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Fabrication and Characterization of lipid nanoparticles and inclusion complexes for Drug delivery

Research Interest

  • Lopid dispersion, Biocompitible polymeric nanoparticles, Functionalized nanoparticles, Encapsulation, Advance drug delivery system

Professional Experience

Principal researcher, NANOTEC (Present )
Deputy Executive Director of NANOTEC in R&D (Present)
Director of Nanotechnology for Life and Health Sciences Research Unit, (2015- 2016)
Director of Nanotechnology Research Unit, NANOTEC (2012-2015 )
Senior Researcher and lab head at Nano-Delivery System laboratory (2007-2013 )
Researcher at National Nanotechnology Center (NANOTEC), National (2004 -2006)
Lecturer at Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Khon Kaen University (2003-2004)
Post-doctoral Fellow, School of Pharmacy, University of Nottingham, UK (2003)
Post-doctoral Fellow, in Biomaterials at School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Nottingham, England (2002-2003)

Selected Publications

Sajomsang W, Nuchuchua O, Gonil P, Saesoo S, Sramala I, Soottitantawat A, Puttipipakkhachorn S, Ruktanonchai UR. (2012) , Water-soluble β –cyclo-dextrin grafted with chitosan and its inclusion complex as a mucoadhesive eugenol carrier. , Carbohydrate Polymer.2012; 89(2): 623-631.
Petchsangsai M, Sajomsang W, Gonil P, Nuchuchua O, Sramala I, Sutapun B, Puttipipakkhachorn S, Ruktanonchai UR. (2011) , Methylated N-(4-N, N-dimethylaminocinnamyl) chitosan nanocomplexes as a novel mucoadhesive and controlled release drug delivery system. , Carbohydrate Polymer.2011;83:1263-1273.
Seetapan N, Bejrapha P, Srinuanchai W, Ruktanonchai U. (2010) , Rheological and morphological characterizations on physical stability of Gamma-oryzanol loaded solid lipid nanoparticles (SLNs). , Micron.2010;41:51-58.
Anantachaisilp S, Smith SM, Treetong A, Pratontep S, Puttipipakkhachorn S, Ruktanonchai UR. (2010) , Chemical and Structural investigation of lipid nanoparticles: drug-lipid interaction and molecular distribution. , Nanotechnology. 2010; 21(12):125102.
Sakulkhu U, Nuchuchua O, Uawongyart N, Puttipipakkhachorn S, Soottitantawat A, Ruktanonchai U. (2009) , Characterization and mosquito repellent activity of citronella oil nanoemulsion. , International Journal of Pharmaceutics. 2009; 372: 105-111.
Choi MJ, Soottitantawat A, Nuchuchua O, Min SG, Ruktanonchai U. (2009) , Physical and light oxidative properties of eugenol encapsulated by molecular inclusion and emulsion-diffusion method. , Food Research International.2009; 42:148-156.
Ruktanonchai U, Limpakdee S, Meejoo S, Sakulkhu U, Bunyapraphat-sara N, Junyaprasert V, Puttipipakkhachorn S. (2008) , Effect of cetly palmitate crystallinity on physical properties of gamma-oryzanol encapsulated in solid lipid nanoparticles. , Nanotechnology. 2008: 19:09570
8. Sarunya Phunpee, Uracha R Ruktanonchai, Hidefumi Yoshii, Suttichai Assabumrungrat and Apinan Sotthitantawat , Encapsulation of lemongrass oil with cyclodextrins by spray drying and its controlled release characteristics, Biosciene, Biotechnology and Biochemistry ,
5. Suwandecha T, Rungnim C, Namuangruk S, Ruktanonchai U R, Sawatdee S, Dechraksa J, Srichana T. , Host-guest interactions between sildenafil and cyclodextrins: Spectrofluorometric study and molecular dynamic modelling, Journal of Molecular Graphics and Modelling ,
3. Pagseesing S, Yostawonkul J, Surassmo S, Boonrungsiman S, Namdee K, Khongkow M, Boonthum C, Iempridee T, Ruktanonchai U R, Saengkrit N, Chatdarong K, Ponglowhapan S, and Yata T. , Formulation, physical, in vitro, and ex vivo evaluation of nanomedicine-based chemosterilant for non-surgical castration of male animals. Theriogenology, 2017 ,
2. Yostawonkul J, Surassmo S, Namdee K, Khongkow M, Boonthum C, Pagseesing S, Saengkrit N, Ruktanonchai U R, Chatdarong K, Ponglowhapan S, and Yata T . , Nanocarrier-mediated delivery of α-mangostin for non-surgical castration of male animals. Scientific Reports, 2017 ,
1. Saesoo S, Sathornsumetee S, Anekwiang P, Treetidnipa C, Thuwajit P, Bunthot S, Maneeprakorn W, Maurizi L, Hofmann H, Ruktanonchai U R, Saengkrit N. , Characterization of liposome-containing SPIONs conjugated with anti-CD20 developed as a novel theranostic agent for central nervous system lymphoma. Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces, 2018 ,
4. Sarunya Phunpee, Kunat Suktham, Suvimol Surassmo, Suwatchai Jarussophon, Chompoonut Rungnim, Apinan Soottitantawat, Satit Puttipipatkhachorn, Uracha Rungsardthong Ruktanonchai , Controllable encapsulation of (alpha)-mangostin with quaternized (beta)-cyclodextrin grafted chitosan using high shear mixing International Journal of Pharmaceutics ,
6. Jakarwan Yostawonkul, Suvimol Surassmo, Tawin Iempridee, Wittaya Pimtong, Kunat Suktham, Warayuth Sajomsang, Pattarapond Gonil,Uracha Rungsardthong Ruktanonchai , Surface modification of nanostructure lipid carrier (NLC) by oleoyl-quaternized-chitosan as a mucoadhesive nanocarrier, Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces ,


2018 Professional achievement UK alumni award
Selected to be Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (FRSC)
Appointed to be Honorary Professor by University of Queensland, Australia
Appointed to be Adjunct Professor of Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
Selected to be one of Thai Young leader representatives to join STS forum, Japan 2014
Selected to be 1 of “66 Young Leaders Shaping Thailand’s Future of 2012” by the Bangkok Post newspaper which celebrated its 66 years in operation
The 2011 For Women in Science fellowship Award from UNESCO-L’Oreal, Thailand.
The Young Scientist Award of 2010 from the Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology under the Patronage of His Majesty the King, Thailand
Selected as one of ten prestigious Top careers for 2020 “This’s My Future” in 2009 organized by Thaikom foundation
Selected to be 1 of 10 “prestige Women of the Year 2006” by Prestige magazine, The nation, and Bangkok Business.
Selected to be a member of Thai Academy of Science and Technology Foundation (TAST)